Office of Student Life

Student Activities

Mount Leadership Society

The Mount Leadership Society is one of seventeen scholars programs on campus. Named after Ruth Weimer Mount, the first Dean of Students at Ohio State, the Mount Leadership Society focuses on students committed to leadership and community service. Students further develop their skills by participating in a wide variety of leadership and service projects. It is an honor to be a Mount Scholar. Only 100 students are selected each year to be part of the program.

The Mount Leadership Society is guided by five essentials for leadership and service: Honor of Integrity, Being Prepared and Following Through, Creating and Nurturing Relationships, Valuing Individuals and Willingness to Teach Others.

Mount Leadership Society students holding signs with Mount's 5 essentials

Components of the Mount Leadership Society:

  • Mentoring by university staff and faculty
  • Leadership training
  • Service projects
  • Year of Service project (2nd year)
  • Opportunity to interact with alumni, faculty and staff
  • Special Orientation Program
  • Early Arrival Program
  • Classes with other Mount Scholars
  • Retreats
  • Socials
  • Celebration Ceremony

Find more information about the Mount Leadership Society contact Kathy Krajnak at